What can Trigger Mania?

Below are triggers that can cause a manic episode.  It is important to be aware of your triggers.  Knowing what your triggers are could help reduce your chances of getting manic.   VIDEO

Stress

Not enough sleep

Alcohol

Failed Relationships

Change in Seasons

Pregnancy

Lack of Schedule

Antidepressants

Money Troubles

Traveling

Loss of a job

Loss of loved one

Noise

Routine Disruption

Unhealthy diet

Lack of exercise

Moving

Changes in medication

Schedule Change

Caffeine

Menstruation

Major Events

Surprises

Arguing

Receiving news

Anticipation of visitors

Change in Routine

11 thoughts on “What can Trigger Mania?

  1. Great article! Thank you so much for this. I noticed you didn’t include receiving news of any kind or seeing someone you love after a long time again on here. I became Manic for 1 1/2 months after I got personal news from my son about an upcoming visit he was making to me. Then I stayed manic during the visit. Then I crashed hard the day he left. So I’d include news & visits to this.

  2. Pingback: Living with Someone Who Has Bipolar Disorder and Learning as You Go: How to Support Someone with Bipolar Disorder; Part 2 | Bipolar Bandit (Michelle Clark)

Leave a comment