After Attending Cruz Rally as a Mental Health Advocate will I vote for him?

cruzI drove over two hours to attend Cruz’s rally. The picture of where it was going to be was a small church so I figured I would be able to ask him a question. I had written it up and thank goodness I had. There were so many people there that they did not let everyone in even though they had gotten tickets on eventbrite.com

I was one of the lucky ones to get in.  I enjoyed the interview he had with Meghan Kelly and liked what he had to say. However, he still does not have my vote. I am still an undecided voter.

This might change, but as of right now, something needs to happen before I would vote for him.  That is for him to talk about the mental health crisis and how he will SOLVE it.

I have written several blogs that I have included at the bottom of this blog explaining  why I think that is so important to thousands of American who are mental health advocates that the candidates talk about this serious issue that affects all Americans.

When I go to vote at the primary on the 15th, if I have not heard any candidate explain what they would do to SOLVE the problem, I will consider that they discriminated against me and have added to the stigma that the mentally ill have to face every day.

Numerous emails, twitter tags, letters, FB messages and even phone calls have been made to the media and the candidates by not only me, but other advocates I know.  We are asking that they talk about the mental health crisis an we don’t even get a response.

I was interviewed by a news channel and a newspaper at the rally and learned this morning that neither story was used.

Until the candidates, politicians, and the media start talking about mental health we will keep seeing overcrowded jails and tragedies.  They all need to talk about what the mentally ill face.  Once they do, I have made up some suggestions of what they can do in my article: Candidates-Do you care about the 25% of Americans who have a mental Illness? PROVE IT!

  • not knowing what symptoms to look for because the public is not educated
  • embarrassment  to get help
  • not knowing where to get help
  • can’t get help when they nee it
  • being jailed instead of hospitalized
  • the revolving doors because they can’t get outpatient care
  • mistreatment by staff members in hospitals
  • being ignored when they try to reach out to supervisors or patient relations after mistreatment
  • being ignored after they plead the people who represent them in Congress to do something to help them and others- They get no response from emails, snail mail, phone calls, and social media
  • being ignored by the media when they offer to tell their story and they want nothing to do with it and very rarely even talk about the mentally ill at all, especially patients who are dying due to mistreatment at hospitals and jails
  • insurance companies  deciding that they can’t get meds that have worked for a long time
  • not being able to afford medications
  • Discrimination and Stigma- If you don’t think we are discriminated against, then read I have a Dream Re: Mental Illness

 

So, I could have been close enough to take a great picture of the next president. I  just hope that he gives me a reason for me to help him.  If he did not read my letter, then he does not deserve to be president because every vote should matter and this nation should be lead “for the by the people.” If he can’t get someone in his campaign to respond to my letter after multiple emails and a hand delivered letter, then I don’t think he qualifies for the job and it has nothing to do with the fact he was born in Canada.

If he did read my letter and chooses to do nothing, he is discriminating against the mentally ill and should not qualify for president any more than a candidate who discriminates for the color of their skin or faith.  I have a dream Re: Mental Health

After spending over 25 years advocating for the mentally ill.  I am so frustrated with Washington. The large majority of them do not try and solve the problem and barely even talk about the mental health crisis.

So, who has my vote so far in this election? Mickey Mouse  That is not because I am crazy as many people think the mentally ill are.  It is because I as of right now there is no candidate who is willing to talk about the issue of how to SOLVE the mental health crisis.

I don’t want to vote for Mickey so I sure do hope that the candidates start talking about this issue.  Out of the realistic candidates left, I would like to vote for Cruz. However,I can’t do it if he does not let me as a mental health advocate help the mentally ill and those who are affected by it.

Did you miss the debate? Mental Illness Was Not Discussed

Candidates-Do you care about the 25% of Americans who have a mental Illness? PROVE IT!

Mental Health Should be a Priority

40 Million Voters Ignored

Why June 3rd Is an Important Day in the US, Who is Invited, and What is the Agenda?

Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses Need to Unite

What can a mental health advocate do to help people with mental illnesses?

What is required to be a Mental Health Care Advocate?

Encouragement from a Political Mental Health Advocate and News Channel

Mental Health Awareness Day & Thanks to Some Governors

Appeal to the media and politicians: Does anyone care that it is Mental Illness Awareness Week in America?

Major Overhaul Needed Re: Mental Health System

To Governor Bush: Was it the Right Decision?

Dear Dr.Rand Paul, We need your help!

Did you miss the debate? Mental Illness Was Not Discussed

Candidates-Do you care about the 25% of Americans who have a mental Illness? PROVE IT!

Mental Health Should be a Priority

40 Million Voters Ignored

Why June 3rd Is an Important Day in the US, Who is Invited, and What is the Agenda?

Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses Need to Unite

What can a mental health advocate do to help people with mental illnesses?

What is required to be a Mental Health Care Advocate?

Encouragement from a Political Mental Health Advocate and News Channel

Mental Health Awareness Day & Thanks to Some Governors

Appeal to the media and politicians: Does anyone care that it is Mental Illness Awareness Week in America?

Major Overhaul Needed Re: Mental Health System

To Governor Bush: Was it the Right Decision?

Dear Dr.Rand Paul, We need your help!

Will Candidate Cruz earn the vote of Mental Health Advocates?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in media, mental health advoctes, mental illness, politics, presidential election and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

