Brandon Marshall and the Super Bowl

 

brandon marshall super bowl
Brandon Tyrone Marshall (wide receiver with Jets) won’t be playing with the Denver Broncos in the Super Bowl this year, but if he was I would be rooting for him. (not Brandon Marshall, linebacker, who is questionable in today’s game.)

I live near Charlotte, NC so therefore I will be rooting for the Panthers.  However, if Brandon was still playing for the Denver Broncos, I would definitely be rooting for him.

Brandon Marshall went to my alma mater (University of Central Florida).  However, that is not why I would be rooting for him. He has broken many records, and earned honors,awards while playing with four franchises. However, that is not why I would be rooting for him either.

The reason I would be rooting him is for what he has done for the mental health community.  He wore green sneakers  during mental illness awareness week for mental illness in 2013 even though he had to pay over $10,000 in fines. He has been open and honest about his struggles with borderline personality disorder.

He has talked about it on television and the most amazing thing he has done regarding helping others to understand his mental illness is to start his own organization Project Borderline. This organization’s goal are to spread the words about BPD, fight the stigma associated with it, educate people about the illness, advocate, reach out to others struggling with a mental illness and to bridge the gap between patients, clinicians, and the public.

“He intends to change the face and the future of this disorder so that those who have suffered in silence, who spent years of their lives feeling trapped by their own emotions, and who once thought that they had reached a place beyond hope will have the opportunity to build a better life for themselves.”

By having this project and talking honestly about his illness he  has helped others who have  mental illness more than he probably knows. He has shown them that they should not be ashamed.  By doing so, I am sure many people have sought out help.

He is doing so much to help eradicate the stigma and raise awareness about mental illness.

He might not be getting a super bowl ring this year, but he should be earning  a far better reward as far as I am concerned.

In honor of Black History Month I created an infographic showing others black celebrities, including athletes who have mental illnesses and are helping to erase the stigma.  Thanks to Brandon Marshall and these celebrities for making a difference.

 

 

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

