Public Hospital in Williamsburg, VA October 1773

willph1

wph3

wph4

wph5

wph6

wph7

wph8

wph9

wph10

wph11

wph12

wph13

wph14

wph18

wph17

14w

20w 21w 22w

24w 25w 26w 27w 28w 29w 30w 31w 32w

 

37w

del will

del will 2

Note: All pictures taken at Public Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Public Hospital in Williamsburg, VA October 1773

  1. Sobering. Unfortunately, we still have a way to go…

  2. Joelle Marie says:

    This makes me sad. [a lot of it does] It makes me think of what could have been by now:

    “A ROAD NOT TAKEN

    In the late 1850s Superintendent Galt attempted a thorough reform of the mental health care system in Virginiga. His goal was to return convalescing patients and harmless chronic inmates to the community. He wanted such patients to board with local residents, live on a nearby state run farm, or work in town during the day bu sleep at the hospital at night.

    In 1877 a new suprintendent, Dr Harvey Black, reintroduced Galt’s proposal. In neither instance was the plan endorsed…”

Leave a Reply

