Writings from the Mother of Bipolar Disorder Part 7: Giving Back

pic for bbMy mother has written six blogs that have touched many lives.  She has been an advocate all my life and by sharing our struggles and giving great advice, she has quite the following.  Writings from the Mother of Bipolar Disorder

My mother has been struggling with cancer for quite awhile. She has never given up, but the cancer is winning.  She is currently in Hospice.  We are hoping for a miracle, but have all accepted that my mom will be entering heaven soon to join her father who passed away a few years ago.

I have started a Caring Bridge site for her if you would like to follow her journey.  Also, we have started a scholarship fund and although I normally don’t post fund raisers on any of my social media sites, I am going to make an exception here.  If you have been reading my mom’s blogs and/or like my blogs, please consider donating to our cause that is in lieu of flowers.

My mom helped me organize an event called Embrace Life Day last year that dealt with healthy living, but had a focus on mental health.  It was a free community event with free food, games, entertainment, speaker from Wounded Warrior Project, inflatables and more.

We had over 45 exhibitors and approximately 350 attended. It could have never happened if it weren’t for her.

She recently told us that her favorite job was as a school.  Her compassion made her a nurse who kids wanted to go see. She “adopted” some of them.  She brought some home with her and took others shopping to buy things for their parents for Christmas. My mom has such a kind heart.  She is beautiful inside and out.  I have to say the beautiful part because everyone always says that my sisters and I all look like my mom.  🙂

Our family has decided that in lieu of flowers, we will be asking people to pay into a scholarship fund.  We will use this fund to set up scholarships on an annual basis for the kids who attended her poverty-stricken home.

We would appreciate anything. If you can’t help, please pass this on to some one else.

I have not been on lately because we have all been by my mom’s side as much as we can during her decline that started about 3 months ago.

If you would like to share how my mom has helped you or if you would just like to send my family and I a message, please go to Sue Lande’s Carebridge account.  You can also see pictures of her, see what others wrote in the guest book, and read our journal updates.

Thanks for being followers of my mom. I would share when people liked her blogs or commented on them.  She thought I was kidding when I told her she was famous.  She might not have been exactly famous, but her blogs were doing better than mine. 🙂

Sue Burghardt Lande ScholarshipFund

 

 

 

 

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

