Writings from Bipolar Bandit’s Father Part 2: Privileged to be a Bipolar Dad

dad and meThis post is long overdue. As the Dad of a daughter with bipolar disorder,  I experienced many heartaches, sleepless nights and long road trips to bail her out of many crisis situations. I would do it all again. I will do it again and I am thankful that this daughter chose to stand and fight and is now fighting for others.

Bipolar disorder is a terrible illness. It took away our daughter’s teenage years, yet she managed to not only graduate from high school, she stayed with it to get her college degree. and taught school for over 10 years before the illness finally took her out of the workforce altogether. She fought that eventuality with everything she had. She had debilitating dystonia, long bouts of depression, multiple hospitalizations and much more before finally realizing she just could not longer work.

Her mother and I are very proud of how she continues to battle back, stays alive, stays on her medication and has finally found her own soul mate.  So here are some of the joys of being a Bipolar Dad:

  • Cards out of the blue saying “I love you Dad”
  • Special gifts that express thoughtfulness and love – Don’t Quit, Eagle, and more
  • Special hugs and knowing smiles
  • Our own special language – eye luv ewe too
  • The moon
  • Sharing with family
  • First of our daughters to graduate high school and college
  • Some very special and dedicated friends that became a part of us
  • Unbelievably dependable in times of stress for the family
  • Helping to heal damaged relationships
  • Smart as a whip – she could be a doctor in different circumstances
  • A great editor
  • Caring, devoted to her family and friends
  • An advocate beyond belief – helping others deal with this terrible illness

I truly could go on forever and will come back and add more things as I think of them, but this should give anyone who reads this an appreciation for my belief that being the Dad of a Bipolar is a blessing and not a curse. I am thankful that my wife and I stayed with her through all the trials and tribulations and we are now very proud to be the parents of a wonderful daughter.

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writings from Bipolar Bandit’s Father Part 2: Privileged to be a Bipolar Dad

    • Thanks for your comment and I will pass this on to my dad. What he wrote made me cry. I am excited as he has agreed to write some other blogs. If you have not read my mom’s blogs, please take the time to do so. She has been my biggest advocate over the years. You can find them by searching “Writings from the Mother of Bipolar Bandit “

  1. Thank you for sharing your perspective of being father of a child that has a mental illness. Thank you for being proud of her. Your daughter is an extraordinary woman who looks out for those who have mental illness’s.

  2. You are truly blessed to have the love of each other.

    • You are right. I know that a lot of people who have mental illnesses, unfortunately. I am blessed to have a supportive family. I would not be here if it weren’t for them. I will pass this on to my dad.

  3. Thanks Dad for sharing this post. Best wishes to both of you.
    David Joel Miller counselorssoapbox.com

  4. Kelsy King says:

    I miss both of my parents so much! My dad was a supportive person in my life, as your dad is. We also had our own language. It’s funny how that happens. Both of my parents were my strongest advocates. In changing times after their deaths, it was so hard to find a new support system quite like they were. Thank God for my husband and children. Living with Bipolar is hard, but there is always a way! Keep up the fight. Mental illness is a chellenge fo so many, and there has to be equality in care. I admire your dad for writing this. He is a TRUE loving father.

    • Thanks for your encouraging words, Kelsy. I can relate to losing a supportive parent. I lost my mom to cancer two years ago and she was not only the best support I have ever had, but also was my strongest advocate. She helped me run an event called Embrace Life Day the year before she died that was a free event with free food, entertainment, kids’activities, speakers including someone from Wounded Warrior Project. I came up with the idea, but she made phone calls to get people there who were involved in mental illness and other related mental health companies and organizations like karate, horse therapy, etc.

      I miss her every day especially during the hard depression times. We a lot of times butted heads when I was manic, but she had an unconditional love that only a mother can have. She would forgive me for anything I said to her and did. My parents bailed me out many times by making long trips from NY to FL to basically save me from myself. Actually one time they had the FBI looking for me.

      My dad continues to try and help me, but he is just not like my mom and he would agree. However, he is helping me pay for my therapy appointments which is a huge deal.

Leave a Reply

