How My Dad has Helped me with my Bipolar Disorder

dad grad3As I have mentioned many times before, my mother has been very supportive of me during my life regarding my mental illness.  She went into psychiatric nursing to learn as much as she could about my mental illness, she has listened to me so many times and seen me shed many tears.  She has loved me unconditionally even though during times I was the sickest I have been outright cruel.  Because of her, I am still alive.

Tomorrow is Father’s Day and therefore I want to talk about how supportive my dad has been too.  He has been there when I need to talk. He gives great advice and I wouldn’t be here if it went for his support and love.   I have been blessed with two wonderful parents. They both have accepted me for who I am.

I admire my dad. He has always been a hard worker. He is creative, intelligent, goal-driven, a leader, and loves his family.  I am so proud to be his daughter.

There have been so many times he has listened to me when I have been in tears.  Neither one of my parents allow me to have self-pity. However, they both understand that my depression and mania are chemical imbalances.

When I was first diagnosed, it was devastating to our whole family.  However, my parents stuck by my side and helped me get through it all.  There were nights I would not sleep at all and one of them would stay up with me.  There were times when I was manic that they had to literally rescue me.

They would have take time off and travel from NY to Florida to get me admitted to a psychiatric hospital or take me back to New York. There was one time that I disappeared and they had to use law enforcement to find me. I had bought a new car and had gotten engaged (using their money for the engagement ring).  My dad was able to get the car salesman to take the car back and got the ring returned.

Out of all the things that my dad has done for me, I vividly remember one night he stayed up with me when I was about 17 and got me through the night. We talked about so many things and him caring meant so much to me. Another time, I remember him trying so hard to get me to relax when I just couldn’t because I was manic. Yes-he was probably frustrated, but him wanting to help me  meant a lot.

When I was diagnosed, I would have understood if my parents were embarrassed.  I know they kept my illness from others mostly at my request.  However, they never let me know think they were ashamed of me.

They have continuously throughout my life let me know that they are proud of me and admire my strength.

I love my parents so much and have never doubted their love for me.  I have heard of so many people that have been abandoned by their families.  Some are told that they don’t have a mental illness. Others  have no desire to learn anything about their mental illness. Living with someone who has a mental illness is not easy.  However, my parents have stuck by my side and I know they will continue to do so.  I sometimes wonder why. I am not sure if I would have stuck around the way I have treated them.

Thanks Mom and Dad! Happy Father’s Day Dad!!!

 

 

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How My Dad has Helped me with my Bipolar Disorder

  1. cj schlottman says:

    This is such a heartwarming and encouraging post! You are indeed blessed.

  2. Happy Father’s Day to your wonderfully supportive father. You are blessed.

  3. jaklumen says:

    my mother has been very supportive of me during my life regarding my mental illness

    I wish mine was.

    He has been there when I need to talk. He gives great advice and I wouldn’t be here if it went for his support and love.

    I am glad mine does.

    • Unfortunately, some people just don’t understand. I am glad that your dad is supportive. Sadly, That is actually better than most.

      • jaklumen says:

        I was just reading your most recent posts– writings from your parents– that is just incredible.

        I need to find a psych doc again and I’m not looking forward to it, but my father is willing to help me.

  4. To this day, my family doesn’t know. They would be judgmental or tell me I’m making it up. So many other people know – my work, my friends, one day my children will know, but not my family. You are very blessed to have that support. Awesome parents rock!

    • Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who are not as blessed as I have been. I hope that when your children learn about your illness that they will be supportive and understanding.

Leave a Reply

