Having Bipolar Disorder on Valentine’s Day

Image

As Valentine’s Day approaches, I have to wonder if my life would have been different if I had not had not had bipolar disorder.

Would certain relationships have worked out?  Would I have made the mistakes I did in some relationships that I did?  Would I have hurt those guys who really cared about me?  Would I have gotten sexually involved with the guy so soon?

My first love was someone I thought I would spend the rest of my life with. My family adored him and I loved him more than anything. However,  when he told met hat he could never get married to me because I had bipolar disorder, that was the end of that relationship. It was hard on both of us, but had to be done.

I have hurt some guys because in my manic episodes have basically said things I should not have.

I have scared others because of my odd behavior.

I was engaged to a guy who has bipolar disorder too.  You would think that that would be a good combination.  We understood each other and that was great. We were the best of friends and still are.  However, we just could not make it work because we were so similar.  He did give me a different side of the illness. I visited him in the hospital and had to see him manic and depressed and feel hopeless.

Another guy literally hid from me in a closet because he was scared of my odd behavior related to manic episode.

I was married to yet another man. He was not a very strong person and was not able to put up with my mood swings.  He suffered from extreme depression.  He was worried about the money I spent when manic and the cost of medical bills when I was hospitalized even though I had insurance.  It was during my last manic episode that was really bad that he decided he could not do it anymore and wanted a divorce. I can’t blame him.

The next guy I got involved with took advantage of me.  He made me think that he loved me. He had sex with me, but didn’t want others to even know that we were dating. He lied to  our mutual friends and his family.  I was manic for part of our relationship and we tooka  trip to Florida together. He did not have any money so I bought everything. What a nice vacation for someone who did not even have a job.  I remember coming home from that trip, falling into a deep depression, and realizing how much money I had spent.  He was stil wanting more money and was upset when I would not give it to him.  All I have to say about that relationship,is that I would not have gotten involved with him if I had not been manic.

I am blessed as this Valentine’s Day approaches. I have been dating a wonderful man for about 3 1/2 years.  He tries to understand me, encourages  me, loves me for who I am and puts up with my mood swings.  We recently even got engaged!  I just hope that I can stay stable or at least not do anything that scares him off..  I do believe he is my rock and will be there for me until the end. I love him so much and he loves me too.

 

Update: We were married in May. I am so blessed to have a man who stands by me even though my illness has made it hard.

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Having Bipolar Disorder on Valentine’s Day

  1. bpnana says:

    Some of my past experiences were very similar. Most of them didn’t know I was bipolar, Even I didn’t, until I married my wonderful husband who is my rock, too. We’ve been together almost 18 years, now and he’s been to hell and back w/me. Congratulations on your engagement! Sounds like you’ve found your rock, too! All the best!

  2. deirdre says:

    Those other men were horrible but I’m so happy that you’re living well now. I’ve always been so terrified that I wouldn’t be able to find someone who could deal with me AND my disorder but this really gives me hope. Thank you.

    – Deirdre

    • I am glad that I gave you hope. Some of the guys were just jerks. However, I don’t blame others because when I am manic, I am hard to deal with and can be scary. For about 4 years before I met my fiance I had given up on finding someone to love me again.

  3. Jessica says:

    Congratulations on your engagement and I pray that he remains til the end

Leave a Reply

