My Pledge to Blog for Mental Health 2014

You may have noticed a logo on the right hand side of my page.  This means that I have ““pledged my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”                       

blog for mental health 

About Blog For Mental Health

BLOG FOR MENTAL HEALTH 2014 PROJECT

BLOG ROLL 

If you have been reading my blog, you know that I am a strong advocate for those with mental illnesses.  Since I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder almost 30 years ago, I have been trying to make it so that people with mental illnesses are treated better, to raise awareness about mental illness, and doing my part in helping to erase the stigma.

Having a mental illness should not be treated any differently than having a medical problem. It is sad that it is, but I hope that some day it will be different.  Treating mental health issues are just as important as any other kind of medical issue. I really think that Congressman Patrick Kennedy said it best when he said that there should be a check up from the neck up.

We, as advocates, need to keep fighting!  I also believe that we need to stick together to have a bigger voice.

I have formed a group on Facebook called Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses .  If you are a fellow advocate, I hope to see you there.

You can find Bipolar Bandit on Facebook,  Twitter and for a lot of valuable information about bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses on Pinterest

If you want to know more about my story, I encourage you to read my series that I have started called My Story with Bipolar Disorder Divided.

For my full story:

http://wp.me/p2Ge94-1ig

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Pledge to Blog for Mental Health 2014

  1. Pingback: Bipolar Bandit | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Leave a Reply

