Brandon Marshall Needs to Be Commended

brandon marshall

I just read that Brandon Marshall stood up to the NFL because he wants to wear green shoes in recognition of Mental Illness Awareness Week, He has Borderline Personality Disorder.

Way to go Brandon!

We need more celebrities like you to talk about mental illness. People need to  know that there is hope and recovery if they have a mental illness.  The stigma needs to be erased so that people will go get help.  In addition, they need to know where the resources if they or someone they know and/or care about needs help,

I am currently in charge of an event called Embrace Life Day that has brought several organizations that work to erase stigma and raise awareness together.  It is a free community event. Food, Entertainment, Games/Prizes, Inflatables are all free. Our hope that this event will draw people in so that we can start to break down some of the barriers related to mental illness.

There are over 40 exhibitors and we have a retired soldier from the Wounded Warrior Project speaking about his problems with depression and PTSD.

Events like this need to happen all over the nation.  The media needs to do a better job of covering tragedies. Instead of just telling everyone the shooter has a mental illness, they should be using these opportunities to educate others.

Read my Letter to the Editor that was published for more of my thoughts on that.

I want to point out that a year ago I started on a “campaign” to try and get Mental Illness Week observed this year because last year it wasn’t.  I wrote to  all the politicians locally, on a state level and a national level.  There have been results. I have received emails phone calls, letters and now several proclamations from governors.

I plan to share the proclamations in a blog in the near future after my event is over.

I started a petition about a year ago too asking that MIAW be recognized.  In it,, I  stated “Please come up with a plan of how you and your state can observe this week. Take advantage of an opportunity to talk about mental illness at a time where it is not for political gain or in response to a national tragedy. The NFL observes Breast Cancer Awareness Week. There is no reason why organizations like the NFL can do similar things for Mental Illness Awareness Week.”

Petition

I, along with other mental health advocates need a louder voice.

What is ironic is that I actually contacted Brandon Marshall to see if he would speak at our event.

BRANDON MARSHALL THANK YOU FOR TRYING TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE AND RAISING AWARENESS FOR MENTAL ILLNESS!

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brandon Marshall Needs to Be Commended

  1. You are doing a great job – well done 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bipolar Bandit

Leave a Reply

