My Reaction to Bill O’Reilly’s Opinion Regarding Mental Illness

Image

Note: Although this aired  awhile ago, I think that people should be aware of how Bill O’Reilly views people with mental illness. It is because of his opinion and the potential of influencing his viewers, that we have a problem with the mental health system care. People like O’Reilly need to do their research, get to know someone who fights a mental illness every day and then feel ok to say the things he said. I guarantee he would think twice about it. If he has a heart at all, I would hope that he would reconsider what he said was wrong and would figure out that by doing this, he made things not only for those with mental illness, but our whole society. Who would go get help after hearing this? 

In reference to the episode involving Miriam Carey who used her car as a weapon in Washington DC,   Bill O’Reilly says  it is  Another Violent Episode Making America Look Bad. Miriam suffered from postpartum depression with psychosis.  I guess he thinks he  has all the answers when it comes to mental illness.

This narrow-minded kind of thinking is part of the problem.  People with influence, like Bill O’Reilly, could do so much to help people with mental illnesses.

Instead, they add to the stigma and  prevents people from getting the help they need.

If you think that O’Reilly’s comments were appalling, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!!!

He or his crew may never read it, but you can try. Maybe if enough of us attempt to contact him with the same kind of message he will hear our voices.

Tweet him, send him a message on Facebook, or email  him: oreilly@foxnews.com

The email I wrote:

Dear Mr. O’Reilly.

Please read my short published Letter to the Editor below. It explains why what you said about the mentally ill prevents people who need it from getting help.
I would hope that this is not what you tried to do.
I always watch Fox News. I like it because you tell stories that other channels won’t. I hope that you can recognize this week as Mental Illness Awareness Week and make a difference.

This is a Letter to the Editor I wrote that was published in the Winston Salem Journal.  (Link below)

Media distortion

I cringe every time I hear that there has been a mass shooting because I anticipate the media coming to the conclusion that it’s because the person had a mental illness that they committed the crime.

Instead of using these tragedies to educate people about mental illnesses, the media adds to the stigma. Most people with a mental illness are not violent. In fact, people with mental illnesses are more likely to be victims of crimes.

The media needs to stop misleading the public! They need to let people know where the resources are if they need help, that there is hope and they can recover. Several successful people throughout history have had a mental illness. Not everyone who suffers from a mental illness shoots people.

Many things regarding mental health need to change, including how they handle these stories. They are scaring people away from getting help. By doing this they are part of the problem.

Will someone get help if they fear that others will think they are going to shoot people?

The media should cover stories about people with mental illnesses who fight the battle every day and are winning. People with mental illnesses have feelings, goals, dreams, families, friends, co-workers, ambition and talents. They just have a chemical imbalance in their brain. The great majority of them are not violent. ~Michelle Hughes Winston Salem

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Reaction to Bill O’Reilly’s Opinion Regarding Mental Illness

  1. jusskeating says:

    This video made me so angry. It sounded so profoundly ignorant. I was embarrassed for him as he spoke those words. I firmly agree with you on this one bandit! I look forward to reading more of your posts. Feel free to follow me jusskeating.wordpress.com
    best of luck in your future endeavors and thank you for all that you do in your fight against the stigma!

  2. Pingback: Tom Sullivan: Does Fox News discriminate against those with mental illnesses? | Bipolar Bandit

Leave a Reply

