What is required to be a Mental Health Care Advocate?

your voice

While travelling around the world of social media, I have seen countless people and organizations claiming to be mental health advocates.

It makes me wonder what exactly these people are doing by claiming that they are advocates?

  • Have they advocated for themselves because they have a mental illness
  • Have they advocated for a friend or loved one who as a mental illness?
  • Do they write to their politicians with concerns regarding mental illness?
  • Do they try and educate others about mental illnesses?
  • Do they walk in walks or participate in protests to raise awareness regarding mental health issues
  • Have they written a book or do they blog about it?
  • There are so many ways to advocate and a lot of them are not listed.

The reason I decided to write this blog is because I see so many people who call themselves advocates online and have to wonder exactly what they are doing as far as advocating.

If you advocate for something, I would think that you should be able to explain why you call yourself that. You should also be working towards some goal.

It is easy to call yourself an advocate,  but if you are not actively trying to change something or fighting for what is right, can you really be considered an advocate?

In my opinion, so many things  need to be done when it comes to changing the mental health system. If all of these people who call themselves advocates are truly advocates, then think about the impact we all could have. I am not saying that people claiming to be advocates are not advocates.

What I am saying is that we need to unite.  Our voices would be heard!

Trying to get other advocates to work together won’t be easy. However, I think it needs to be done to make the difference that we, as advocates, all want.

I hope someone with influence will realize this soon and get all these organizations to work towards the same goal: Change the Mental Health System and Erase Stigma

We as organizations need to unite to have a louder voice and Mental Health Advocates United is trying to get people together on Facebook and Twitter. 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What is required to be a Mental Health Care Advocate?

  1. I think they are all really good points Michelle (I am also Michelle lol). I am also a Bipolar sufferer and have struggled for many years with my mental health issues. I write on my blog to try and help reduce the stigma around mental health and hope that sharing my experiences helps others. I guess that would make me technically an ‘advocate’ – but there is probably more I can do.

  2. It was a great blog with lots of information about Assisted living for mentally ill . you can gather more information from http://www.individualcareoftx.com/
    over that site you will be able to find out about PERSONALITY DISORDERS ,OBSESSIVE-COMPULSIVE DISORDER,SCHIZOPHRENIA and BIPOLAR DISORDER they are specially expert on these subjects but on this site you can have suggestion about what to do with a mentally ill person and get rid of it . you got many information and that site will increase that more vastly

  3. Cameron Von St James says:

    Hey I have a quick question about your blog, could you email me when you have a chance? Thanks! -Cameron

  4. Besides being a writer and telling my story, I am on the board of my local MHA. I speak at our county library about bipolar disorder. I sign petitions on NAMI and get involved politically where possible. I can do more and need to. We all do. Especially for those who can’t who are in institutions permanently. You’re right, anyone can call themselves that. Initially, I did because of my book and helping each person I met with a question or need. Then I joined the MHA board to get a broader awareness and affect change through fundraising to assist those less fortunate. I like to think I have made a difference in peoples’ lives though there is so much to do. Each advocate contributes differently. The hope is that every person calling themselves an advocate is affecting change whether it is one person, one town, one constituency at a time. It is really overwhelming to know what needs to be done. We have such a small voice politically. I’m eternally grateful to NAMI, DBSA and MHA for advocating for us.

  5. ianknabel66 says:

    Hello Bipolarbandit, my social media and online friend.

    I agree 100% with what your saying. There are literally thousands of people advocating for mental health in one form or another. How powerful would it be if we could all pull together!

    I’ve spoken to a couple of others about forming a group of mental health bloggers and we work together to all write about a certain topic with the same keywords and hashtags etc on a predetermined day each month.

    We all post the same day, all promote the same day and create a louder voice

    What are your thoughts on this?

    Stay strong – fight on! We will make a difference

  6. Pingback: March Madness: Basketball vs Candidates | Bipolar Bandit

  7. Pingback: A Whole New Ball Game in March | Bipolar Bandit

  8. Pingback: Do you want my vote? Prove to me that you have a SOLUTION to the failed Mental Health System | Bipolar Bandit

  9. Pingback: Dear Dr.Rand Paul, We need your help! | Bipolar Bandit

  10. Pingback: To Governor Bush: Was it the Right Decision? | Bipolar Bandit

  11. Pingback: Candidates-Do you care about the mentally ill? PROVE IT! | Bipolar Bandit

  12. Pingback: What They are not Talking about at the Debates | Bipolar Bandit

  13. Pingback: Will Candidate Cruz earn the vote of Mental Health Advocates? | Bipolar Bandit

  14. Pingback: Do the votes of Mental Health Advocates Matter? | Bipolar Bandit

  15. Pingback: After Attending Cruz Rally as a Mental Health Advocate will I vote for him? | Bipolar Bandit

  16. Pingback: Trump vs Clinton: Who will have the vote of the mentally ill? | Bipolar Bandit

  17. Pingback: I Care for Someone Who Has a Mental Illness and Want to do More to Help Them | Bipolar Bandit

  18. Pingback: How it can take ONE MINUTE to Get the Candidates to talk about Mental Health | Bipolar Bandit

  19. Pingback: Sanders- Will he talk about the mental health crisis? | Bipolar Bandit

  20. Pingback: Will Trump Make America Great for Everyone? | Bipolar Bandit

  21. Pingback: Does Kasich have a solution to the mental health crisis like he says he does | Bipolar Bandit

Leave a Reply

