Mental Illness Issue? Make Your Politicians Accountable!

accountability

I write letters to people with influence as an advocate for people with mental illness. It can be very discouraging. I have been doing this for 25 years since I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. After seeing the way people with mental illnesses and how are treated, forgotten, ostracized, and made out to be monsters, I started my quest to change the system.

I have had small successes and have learned things that work. However, my new strategy is when I don’t get an answer from a politician or someone in the media, I don’t back down.  The politicians are paid by tax dollars and elected and therefore can be replaced. My following of media can be changed.

I, as one person, may not make a whole of difference, but I have to keep fighting for what I believe in.   

In addition you are invited to join a closed group on Facebook I started: https://www.facebook.com/groups/494927813883917/

If you are just starting out as a mental health advocate, I wish you the best of luck. It is not an easy road, but you will be changing lives and raising awareness and that is an important step. I commend you for taking this path and wish you much success.

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mental Illness Issue? Make Your Politicians Accountable!

  1. This is a worthwhile effort; I wish you luck in getting some answers, at least. I’ll be trying to do the same from where I am. No time like the present, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

