Email I sent to Governors Re: Mental Illness Awareness Week October 2013

united states

Dear Governor;

In light of all the tragic events that have been putting mental illness in the spotlight, it is more important than ever to help raise awareness about mental illness by educating people on what to look for, where they can get help and to erase the stigma that is attached to mental illness so people will get help.

In 1990, the U.S. Congress established the first full week of October as Mental Illness Awareness Week (MIAW) in recognition of NAMI’s efforts to raise mental illness awareness. Since then, mental health advocates across the country have joined with others in their communities to sponsor activities, large or small, for public education about mental illness.”

I was very surprised and disappointed that last year there was little to no attention given to this important week.

I am hoping that 2013 can be different as recognizing this week is more important than ever. I started a petition to Congress after MIAW last year. It is asking for states to come up with ways to recognize this week. It would not require a lot of money and is something I would think anyone (Republicans, Independents, and Democrats) would agree is important.

I have recently learned from one of my own representatives that this needs to be handled by each state, not from the US Congress.

That is why I am writing to you. I hope that you will do something in recognition of MIAW. The ideas of what you can do are limitless. However, if you need some ideas, please let me know.

Please let me know what your state plans on doing. I would like to include it in a blog I will be writing.

I am currently planning an event in my city entitled “Embrace Life Day” during this week. We already have the mayor and a local state representative who have committed to attending. If you would like more information about this event to get ideas of what you can do, please let me know.


Thanks for your time!

Michelle Lande Hughes

Bipolar Bandit”

MichelleLandeHughes@gmail.com

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Email I sent to Governors Re: Mental Illness Awareness Week October 2013

  1. Christy Lenhardt says:

    Michelle, this is awesome! Great job

Leave a Reply

