Email I sent to Representatives in the General Assembly in NC

Image
RESPONSES FOUND BELOW
Dear Representatives;
I recently received a phone call from Senator Burr, have spoken to Mayor Allen Joines, and have received an email from Virginia Foxx. I also have sent a certified letter to the White House, received a tweet back from Patrick Kennedy, a call from the Governor of Montana, and the list goes on including athletes, musicians, news channels, newspapers, etc. I recently was asked to be on the Katie Couric show and my proudest accomplishment was to get a personalized letter from President Clinton.
I also have sent out tweets, FB messages, emails, letters and made phone calls in regards to something that is very important to me and others who I am constantly advocating for.
I am sure that you are aware of the problem with how the mentally ill are treated, the lack of care that they have available to them, the issues of stigma that often makes people not seek out help, the growing issues of gun control vs. mental illness, recent tragic events that have been blamed on mental illness, and basic awareness of those with mental illness.
I am writing to you at the request of Representative Virginia Foxx and as a result from a conversation I had with Senator Burr’s office recently.
Jason, from my senator’s office spoke with me in regards to my issues, concerns, petition, and other things, made me realize that there is huge power in numbers. I started a petition several months ago asking states to come up with a plan for Mental Illness Awareness Week (MIAW)October 2013 due to the lack of coverage it had in 2012.
I also have written several blogs regarding how MIAW was ignored, World Mental Health Day 2012 got hardly any attention as well compared to other countries and shared them with everyone I could think of.
All I am asking is for someone who has influence to help me raise awareness of this petition.  It currently has resulted in over 900 emails that have gone out to representatives all over the country and President Obama.  I believe it is something that both parties can agree on and would cost little to no money at all to implement.
In addition, my new push is to find out who will be attending the June 3rd Mental Health conference and their agenda. For a president who claims he is ” committed to creating the most open and accessible administration in American history and takes comments and questions from the public”,  I really think others who are afflicted by mental illness advocates and I deserve to know that my ideas are at least heard or read by someone at the White House. I recognize that they can’t respond to everyone who writes to them, but I know from speaking to many people I have great ideas and a good way of getting my point across. I don’t really know how to make sure that by June 3rd, he is presented with my petition and possibly the articles I have written. I deserve that much. If you have any suggestions as to how to make that happen, I would greatly appreciate that. I know that you represent Forsyth County in the NC General Assembly. I feel like my representatives in the Congress should listen to me and the others who voted them into office.
Please take a few moments to read my petition, share it with others, and help me to spread the word about it. The major problem I am facing is that the petition is coming from so many different states that no one person is getting a huge number of requests. That is why I am hoping that NC can be heard and made a difference.
The only other thing that I would like to draw your attention to and hope that you will be able to attend is our Winston Salem’s recognition of MIAW like Mayor Allen Joines has already agreed to.
I thank you for your time and hope that you have read this whole email and take time to reflect on what a big impact you could have if you helped me out by raising awareness and fighting the stigma attached to mental illness.  What we do could literally save lives.

 

Sincerely,
Michelle Hughes
About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

