My Opinion on 1st 3 short stories of “Call Me Crazy”

call me crazy

I have bipolar disorder and often get upset by the way not only the media portrays mental illness, but also by how Hollywood does.

In the case of “Call Me Crazy”, the case is different. I was really impressed with the first three  short stories.   One dealt with a law student with schizophrenia and the other was about a mother who had bipolar disorder.  It was accurate in how mania and depression can be. I better understood what schizophrenia is and can’t speak to how accurate that was portrayed.

I especially liked how the stories  showed how family deals with mental illnesses. In one case, a sister had a hard time dealing with her sister’s illness. Her parents tried to understand and were supportive of her.  In the other case, a daughter had to deal with her mother who had bipolar disorder.

One thing that I really appreciated was how the boyfriend of the girl whose sister had schizophrenia reacted in a positive way by saying that it was an illness and didn’t judge the sick person.

The second thing I really liked seeing was how the daughter who had a mother with bipolar disorder considered her mother as a hero for all that she had endured.

I liked the underlying message that it should not be considered that you are an awful person or “crazy” because you have a mental illness. Instead, it is something that the person who is mentally ill can’t help and they are actually strong because of what they have endured and gone through.

The only thing I sort of disagreed with is how they made it seem like the only time someone gets ill is when they go off their medications. This is not accurate. There are other factors that could cause someone to get manic, depressed, or have hallucinations or hear voices.  In some cases, people do go off their meds.  However, for some people they can be taking their medications as prescribed and still run into problems.  Not everyone chooses to go off their meds.  Also, medication does not always solve all the problems of someone who has a mental illness.

If  you didn’t see the short stories,  I strongly encourage you to watch them.   For information on the show click here.  The show was on Lifetime.

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

