Is there anyone with influence who cares about the mentally ill?

lots of people

Are there any people out there who have influence who will talk about mental illness?

I don’t think so. 1 in 4 Americans are affected by a mental illness. However, it seems the only time mental illness is brought up is after a tragic event.

There has to be someone out there who wants to talk about it.  I have contacted every news station, all Congressmen and Senators, the president, many actors, musicians, and athletes asking them to start talking about mental illness in a way that it does  not discriminate, erases the stigma and educates the public.

People need to know where to turn if they or someone they know needs help.  Instead, all they hear is that the mentally ill are violent.  Would you seek out professional help if you were to be put into this classification of those who are violent and portrayed as crazy? Probably not.

For this to change, people with influence need to start talking about mental illness in a way that educates and raises awareness and erases the stigma.

Please write to the people you know who have influence asking them to talk about this very important subject that affects 1 in 4 people in the United States.

Join a FB Advocacy Group (request to join as it is a closed group)

Join Bring Change 2 Mind or NAMI or DBSA 

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Do something! Get people talking about something that  kills more Americans than homicide, car accidents or any single major cancer. Demand that things change!

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is there anyone with influence who cares about the mentally ill?

  1. Pingback: Good News: Mental Illness is Being Talked about! | Bipolar Bandit

  2. I AM BI -POLAR and hope to help other people before my meds kill me. My psychiatrist who I was uncomfortable with has labeled me and I have become manic now around doctors not normal people just doctors due to trust issues. I have a artfull tattoos on my whole face and random stuff everywhere which I got because when I used to be unable to cope, pain was a reliever, it made me concentrate on other things besides my thoughts… not a cutter, not my thing, just had to look good and have some sort of purpose. Then I got into crack-cocaine, I knew it was wrong the whole time. Eventually I went to rehab for my family & myself not willingly at first. I learned alot about myself. Then the psychiatrist who knew my medical history prescibed Lithium,Valium & ambien besides that fact that I aleady tried every drug availble on the maket which I always became immune to probably because im an addict great things to give an addict of course I accepted them.. fortunate for me I had been to rehab and used them correctly little did I realize how deadly they where espcially if you wanted to stop because I was miss informed and unable to make an educauted decision. I ended up taking the ambien & valium for years along with lithium & lamictical… seemed ok at first but little did I realize that it made me so numb I became a totally different person a complete ahole and angry all the time at the world. fortunately I was raised right from wrong I am currently weaning off ambien no problem at first then I got sick recently and I thought temporarely stopping lithium would allow me to take advil, wrong but in the process realized I had feelings again unfortanteltly it almost killed me I am lucky to be writing this and then you add the other to medications with lithium and you should be instantly dead I got lucky It hurt like hell, memory loss,and extreme weight loss 13 lbs in a month.. side effects of each individual drug and withdrawl seriously deadly individually and together, unfortantely he gave me all 3… at this point my future looks Im trapped taking them, dont take them and die slowly damageing my organs. Mind I never hurt myself or anyone else just crazy thoughts from age 15 to 41 Marijuana saved my life from age 15 to mid 20s when I stupidly listen to society doctors and family, Big mistake I never wanted to get high just wanted to control my brain from rapid cycling which got worse after quitting. At one time I was suicidal not any more, mostly due to almost killing myself unintentionally, and feeling now like all I want to do was live. Society and the medical community labeled like I was the movie theatere killer without all the facts.. at this time I have lost all faith in the medical community… and stuck between a rock and a hard place to die slowly due to pills or suicde which is not an option for me anymore. I want to live as long as possible unfortunately again no faith in medical community, I know death will be miserable and long but dont intend on dying in a hospital or psych facilty I enjoy my freedom and family, and actually love my family. For me too little to late… for those in the future get educated and make your decision with a loved one or family member based real information. As far as im concerned the manufactuers, doctors who didnt see my health problems an even the pharmacy are no better than your local drug dealer I sometimes believe all they wanted do was kill me that almighty dollar was more important. you know we are human beings, but not anymore just greedy people with an agenda all I wish is that someone reads this & dont make the mistakes I made bring a loved one to every appointment be educated my trust In dr.s (eduacted people what a joke) especially since you cant get 2 to agree. Please learn from my mistakes. All I want now is to help others… good luck on your journey its to late for me

    • Aaron-
      Thank you for writing your story. I apologize it took me so long to
      respond. You have a very helpful story to tell.

      I was wondering two things.

      1. Would you be interested in telling your story as a Feature Story on my
      blog?
      Here are some suggestions on how to write it, but it doesn’t have to
      include all of it.
      https://bipolarbandit.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=286&action=edit

      2. Would you be interested in joining an advocacy group I started on
      Facebook? There are about 300 members and I think you would be a great
      addition to the group.
      Let me know and I can send you an invite. (It is a closed group.)

      Thanks for writing your story and I am sorry you have had such a rough
      time. I have too, actually. I am just grateful I never took street drugs.
      However, I can relate to what you said….”Doctors who didn’t see my
      health problems an even the pharmacy are no better than your local drug
      dealer I sometimes believe all they wanted do was kill me that almighty
      dollar was more important.”
      Please respond to bipolarbandit@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

