7th Feature Story: Stormy’s Battle with bipolar disorder, MPD, and Fibromyalgia

stormy

Hi my name is Stormy and I am 47 years old. I was diagnosed with Multiple Personality Disorder (MPD) at the age of 30. Six years ago I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I see a therapist twice a month for the MPD and bipolar disorder.  I also have group therapy that my therapist coordinates. It’s different for me with having two different diagnoses going on. The bipolar disorder acts differently on the different alters.

I have a good support system because the group is for people with bipolar disorder and their family. They do know that I’m also MPD and accept it.

My husband is my main supporter and is always there for me no matter what.

My illness does take a toll on him when I’m manic though. I’ve just came out of a manic attack. My husband watched me like a hawk and gave me extra Depakote when needed.

I don’t work. I just can’t do it right now. My therapist is also against me working at this time. She suggests that I work on doing my crafts instead. Doing crafts seems to help settle me down when I’m manic or depressed.

I belong to several face book groups that help also including “Healing Hearts with Mental Illness & The ones they Love” and “Curing Bipolar Disorder and Schizophrenia”

I also have fibromyalgia, although it’s not a mental illness, it causes pain and sleepiness. When added to the depression, nothing gets done.  I don’t do any cleaning of the house, cooking, or personal hygiene. I don’t do anything except suffer through the pain and take pain killers.  I also have had thoughts of suicide.

That is my hardest part of my illnesses. I think that my husband would be better off without me and get suicidal.

Talking to someone that understands what I’m going through helps.  Sometimes, I just need a shoulder to cry on.

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7th Feature Story: Stormy’s Battle with bipolar disorder, MPD, and Fibromyalgia

  1. Javier says:

    It’s hard to come by educated people for this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  2. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this web site on regular basis to get updated from most recent news update.

  3. Link says:

    Useful information. Fortunate me I disxcovered your site unintentionally, and I amm surprised why this
    accident did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  4. It’s not easy to live with this kind of disease, I can only say just stay brave for our loved ones or family.

Leave a Reply

