World Mental Health Day Around the World

This year World Mental Health Day will celebrate its 20th anniversary on October 10th. It is estimated that over 100 countries now celebrate this day.  The theme for 2012 is Depression: A Global Crisis.  This blog is intended to show how several countries are recognizing that Mental Illness should be a concern for everyone.

It is estimated that over 350 million people suffer from a mental illness in the world.   If you are reading this and your country is not mentioned, it is because this is a work in progress. Please contact me at bipolarbandit@hotmail.com or comment on this blog if your country has an article that is not mentioned that you want me to include. Thanks.

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to World Mental Health Day Around the World

  1. Pingback: World Mental Health Day Blog Party, October 10, 2012 | World Mental Health Day

  2. Justin says:

    What about Poland?

  3. Pingback: Appeal to the media and politicians: Does anyone care that it is Mental Illness Awareness Week in America? « Bipolar Bandit

  4. Pingback: Mental Wellness thru Art | A Path to Follow

Leave a Reply

