My Story with Bipolar Disorder Divided Part 10: Moving to Florida, Going to College and Working

part 10 by bipolar bandit

I had worked several jobs in high school and college.  For the most part, having bipolar disorder did not affect my job performance too much until the year before I had to go on disability.

When I first moved to Florida to finish up my college degree in teaching, I  started working at a movie theater;  I enjoyed it because I got to watch free movies and enjoy popcorn and drinks whenever I wanted it. This is where I met my first love.  I don’t remember when I told him that I had bipolar disorder or if there were signs of it and I had to tell him.  I just know that when he told me that he could never marry me since I had a mental illness,  I broke up with him. It was a hard break up for both of us.

While working at the same movie theater, I started dating someone who I lost my virginity to. I still regret that. One symptom of bipolar disorder is sexual promiscuity and in that case it was proven true.  I never loved him even though at the time, I thought I did.  It was his first time too and it was quickly realized that we did not care about each other. I had always thought I would wait until marriage and that was not a reality anymore.  Having bipolar disorder can sometimes rob you of so much and make you do things you would never do if you were in your “normal” state of mind.

I eventually quit that job. The manager was power hungry and so controlling. Although I liked the job, I was sick of her treating her employees and even customers the way she did.  I don’t remember exactly what had transpired, but I probably was somewhat manic as I quit on the spot one night.  I just said, “I quit.” and left.

That was and is out of character for me.  I have never done it before so I really think I was not stable at the time.  Unfortunately, I do not remember everything. In trying to write these blogs, it is really make me think.  I wrote in my last blog that I get different manic episodes confused and that is true.I also don’t remember everything I did while manic either.

While I had this job, I was a full time student.  I did have a car payment so I got another job working at a grocery store.  While working at the movie theater, I lived at my parent’s house and was renting it out to college students. Eventually, my parents sold that house and  and  I rented a room in a house. The room was big enough to hold a lot of the furniture from the house.  However, when I suspected them doing drugs, I got out of there asap. When I moved into that next house is when I slept with the guy I mentioned earlier.

I did not live there very long because she met a guy who moved in.  I don’t recollect everything from these times. I know that I struggled with depression and slight bouts of mania. However, I don’t think it was serious until my next move.  It seems like I was pretty much stable when I first moved to Florida up until my move into the next person’s house.  I must have been acting strangely at some point to break up with the man I loved and/or I was doing strange things. I also know that there were times that I went off my medications. Note:I have learned my lessons with that and although I try to stay on the minimum amount that I can, I know that I need to do everything I can to not get manic.

I then moved in with a girl who I went to school with who owned her own house. We had a great time together. I remember going out line dancing almost every night and really liking living there and being her friend. I don’t remember if I told her I had bipolar disorder, but she was soon to find out.

That is the next chapter in my life that I will talk about in my next blog.  I guarantee that will reveal a lot more of how my bipolar disorder can take over my life. I was in a very severe manic episode.

For my full story:

http://wp.me/p2Ge94-1ig

 

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Story with Bipolar Disorder Divided Part 10: Moving to Florida, Going to College and Working

  1. Pingback: Bipolar Bandit’s Story Undivided | Bipolar Bandit

Leave a Reply

