My Story with Bipolar Disorder Divided Part 5: Never Knowing in Junior/ High School

part 5My Story with Bipolar Disorder: Never Knowing in Junior/ High School (Part 5)

I have painted a life where I was either depressed or full blow manic. However, this was not how it always was. I was able to stay on the honor roll. I was the first girl to be on the golf team. I started a group at my school for Amnesty International. I was the President of a Junior Achievement company and was the president of a 4-H group.

I had friends who I would do things with including having them over, going to their house, going to movies, going roller skating, and to football games. I went to dances at my school.

Our family had a pool so I would have friends over often.

My dad would play his guitar around the campfire and all the people in the neighborhood would come and enjoy it.

The other kids and I would play ghost in the graveyard or kick ball.

My family and I went on a lot of great trips and I enjoyed them all except for one when I was slightly depressed. I loved playing in the band at school and also played the violin.

I would have parties at my house.

There were many times that I was happy and depression was not even present. However, I knew that it was lurking and never knew when it was going to appear again. This made it hard to plan things in advance. I also missed out on things. For example, I enjoyed golfing with the guys. However, after the season, I entered a depression phase and didn’t go to the party.

I went away to camp and really enjoyed it. This was where I got my first kiss. I had great times with the girls in my cabin. I have so many great memories and pictures from that camping trip. I got the opportunity to go back a few weeks after that and sunk into a deep depression. I didn’t have fun at all. I did endure it and made it through the week.

I had friends that I would sit with at lunch. Then, would miss school for a few weeks. When I came back, I didn’t feel welcomed anymore. They had moved on.

For my full story:

http://wp.me/p2Ge94-1ig

About Michelle Clark Bipolar Bandit

I am a strong advocate for the mentally ill and have been since I was first approached by a lawyer in a psychiatric facility as a teenager. He wanted me to help him fight how the mentally ill are mistreated. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of 17 after a full blown manic episode. Before that, I suffered from debilitating depression for 4 years. My goals are to help others by sharing my story and providing tips to deal with mania and depression. I often write blogs related to advocating for people like myself. I want to encourage, inspire, and educate those with #bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses and also include inspirational #quotes. I founded the group Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses and the page Mental Health Advocates United and have several social media sites that are related to bipolar disorder and/or advocacy. If you are an advocate or would like to be, I hope you join our FB group: Advocates for People with Mental Illnesses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Story with Bipolar Disorder Divided Part 5: Never Knowing in Junior/ High School

  1. theothersid3 says:

    I was diagnosed bipolar at the end of first semester senior year of high school… I can relate to the nostalgia of the times before that point. I was highly successful in whatever I pursued, I enjoyed the good things in life w/o too much thought, and all of that was taken away from me. That aspect alone is traumatizing and haunted me for years.

    I noticed myself planning ahead as well, anticipating “bouts” of just not wanting to do things, and making hay while the sun shone and working ahead for weeks when I felt unusually… productive.

  2. Pingback: Bipolar Bandit’s Story Undivided | Bipolar Bandit

Leave a Reply

